MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services.
Provides multimedia resources and professional development opportunities for educators pre-K through grade 12. Recognizing that all educators are not always comfortable in the venue of online social media, PBS offers examples of how successful implementation can happen along with online support.
The resource can encourage beginning students to appreciate how and why oral histories are worth collecting, and it could also be used in courses as an alternative way of understanding history as told through the everyday experiences of ordinary and extraordinary people alike.
The main categories on this site are Lessons and Activities, Presentations and Multimedia, Discussions and Collaboration, Research and Writing, Assessment and Rubrics, and Mobile Technologies. Each of these areas includes an overview page with pedagogical comments and rationale as well as subpages with annotated hyperlinks to high-quality resources. This site needs to be bookmarked by all social studies teachers, teacher educators, and professional developers.
The Civil Rights History Project is an archive of oral histories of activists and direct observers of the people, places, and events that brought about sweeping, often traumatic, changes in American society. In addition to being activists, interviewees were members of prominent organizations during the struggle, such as the NAACP, the Congress of Racial Equality, and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. Some events interviewees discussed are the Freedom Rides (1961), the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), sit-ins, southern voter registration drives, and Emmett Till's murder in 1955.
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies are recorded in whatever language the witness prefers, and range in length from one-half hour to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions).
The records are entered into Yale's online public access catalog. Easy search mechanisms allow users to search the testimonies by geographic headings or subject headings, or a combination of both using Boolean operators. Advanced searching allows users to narrow their results effectively. Tutorials are available, along with assistance from Yale's staff (firstname.lastname@example.org).
The goal of the WWC is to be a resource for informed education decision making. To reach this goal, the WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and free reports on the WWC website. With over 700 publications available and more than 10,500 reviewed studies in the online searchable database, the WWC aims to inform researchers, educators, and policymakers as they work toward improving education for students.
A resource of the Federal Reserve, this website provides a centralized database of metadata for lesson plans and other educational materials produced by the economic education efforts of each of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks; the artifacts themselves are found on the websites of the respective banks. While most lesson plans are aimed at K-12 students, some are appropriate for college students or the general public.
A project of the Southern Poverty Law Center, Teaching Tolerance is “dedicated to reducing prejudice, improving intergroup relations and supporting equitable school experiences for our nation’s children.” The site is especially useful to those interested in teaching methodologies and materials for promoting tolerance and empowering children and adolescents to question and express their ideas.
Teacher resources with downloadable inquiry science lessons designed to meet national and state education standards. An online educational resource for educators, students, and parents," utilizing "state-of-the-art technology to provide instant access to reliable, up-to-date information and educational tools in life, physical, and earth/space sciences appropriate for grades K-8."
Mathwire.com is designed to provide activities and appropriate worksheets for teachers to use in their classrooms. All activities and worksheets support the constructivist approach to learning mathematics and the NCTM Standards.
For educators who teach mathematics and are interested in integrating common technologies into their daily instruction. This site is divided into three learning strands: Math Concepts, Integrated Lessons, and Journaling. It has an archive of downloadable lessons and a bibliography of research. This site is a good introduction into integrating technology into math studies and linking writing with math, but it should be supplemented with more recent sites like Mathwire and MERLOT Mathematics.