Skip to main content

Citing Sources : CSE/CBE Name-Year System

Get help with citing sources for your assignment.

Books

Signed encyclopedia article

T: (Prescott 1992)

R: Prescott DM. 1992. Cell (biology). In: McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology. 7th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill. Volume 3, p332-337.

Book with author

T: (Wong 2006)

R: Wong DW. 2006. The ABCs of gene cloning. New York: Springer. 242p.

Book with two authors

T: (Fasulo and Walker 2007)

R: Fasulo M, Walker P. 2007. Careers in the environment. 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill. 343 p.

Book with organization as author

T: (American Dietetic Association 2006)

R: American Dietetic Association. 2006. Nutrition diagnosis: a critical step in the nutrition care process. Chicago: American Dietetic Association. 173 p.

Book with two editors

T: (Bisio and Boots 1997)

R: Bisio A, Boots S, editors. 1997. The Wiley encyclopedia of energy and the environment. New York: Wiley.

Work within a larger work

T: (Style Manual Committee 2006)

R: Style Manual Committee. 2006. Books, technical reports, and monographs. In: Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors, editors. Scientific style and format; the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. New York: Rockefeller University Press. p468-489.

 

Print Articles

Journal article with three authors

T: (Bormann et al. 2007)

R: Bormann BT, Haynes RW, Martin, JR. 2007 Feb. Adaptive management of forest ecosystems: did some rubber hit the road? Bioscience. 57(2):186-191.

Magazine article with author and discontinuous pages

T: (Birkland 1998)

R: Birkland TA. 1998 Sep. In the wake of the Exxon Valdez; how environmental disasters influence policy. Environment 40(7):4-9, 27-32.

Newspaper article with author

T: (Broad 2007)

R: Broad WJ. 2007 Sep 28. Useful mutants, bred with radiation. New York Times 156(54,050):D1, D6.

Electronic Sources

Signed encyclopedia article found in an online database

T: (Brasseur and Prinn 2007)

R: Brasseur GP, Prinn RG. 2007. Stratospheric ozone. In AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill: encyclopedia of science and technology online [database on the Internet]. 2007 ed. [New York]: McGraw-Hill. [cited 2007 Aug 22]. Available from: http://www.accessscience.com/.

Science magazine article found in an online database

T: (Travis 2002)

R: Travis J. Toxin trumped. 2002. Science News Aug 17:99. In: Academic Search Complete [database on the Internet]. Ipswich (MA): EBSCO [cited 2007 Aug 22]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/.

Journal article found in an online database with first page number and then number of pages given and all multiple authors listed

T: (Chiuchiolo et al. 2004)

R: Chiuchiolo AL, Dickhut RM, Cochran MA, Ducklow HW. 2004. Persistent organic pollutants at the base of the Antarctic marine food web. Environmental Science & Technology 38(13):3551-3557. In: Academic Search Complete [database on the Internet]. Ipswich (MA): EBSCO [cited 2006 Sep 5]. 7p. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/.

Journal article found in an online database with page number range given and all multiple authors listed

T: (Chiuchiolo et al. 2004)

R: Chiuchiolo AL, Dickhut RM, Cochran MA, Ducklow HW. 2004. Persistent organic pollutants at the base of the Antarctic marine food web. Environmental Science & Technology 38(13):3551-3557. In: American Chemical Society Publications: Journals and Magazines [database on the Internet]. Washington (DC): ACS; c2000-2007 [cited 2007 Aug 22]. Available from: http://pubs.acs.org/about.html.

Newspaper article found online

T: (Brody 2007)

R: Brody, J. 2007 Aug 21. Cutting cholesterol, an uphill battle. The New York Times [Internet]. [cited 2007 Sep 27]. Available from: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/08/21/health/21brod.html?_r=1&oref=slogin.

Abstract found in an online database

T: (Eun and Koh 2004)

R: Eun JP, Koh GY. 2004 Apr 30. Suppression of angiogenesis by the plant alkaloid, sanguinarine [abstract]. Biochem Biophys Res Commun 317(2):618-24. In: PubMed [database on the Internet]. Washington (DC): NLM [cited 2007 Aug 22]. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/.

WWW site

T: (Texas A&M Bioinformatics Working Group [date unknown])

R: Texas A&M Bioinformatics Working Group. [date unknown]. Texas endemics: distribution of family Amaryllidaceae [Internet]. Flora of Texas Consortium web site. [cited in 2007 Sep 27]. Available from: http://www.csdl.tamu.edu/FLORA/cgi/endemics_map_page2?fam=Amaryllidaceae.

Online database

T: (McKusick et al. 2007)

R: McKusick VA et al., editors. 2007 Sep. OMIM, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man Database [Internet]. Johns Hopkins University and National Center for Biotechnology Information. [cited 2007 Sep 27]. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=OMIM.

Get Help
Get Help