Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. Search and browse content by themes, categories, collections, and artists. You may also search for images out of copyright and free to use in your own projects.
The photography collection includes more than 400,000 photographs and negatives dating from the invention of photography to the present day. The collection embraces numerous landmark processes, objects of great rarity, and monuments of art history that trace the evolution of the medium as a technology, as a means of scientific and historical documentation, and as one of the most potent and accessible means of personal expression of the modern era. More than 14,000 photographers are represented in the collection, including virtually all the major figures in the history of the medium. Search the photography collections online at http://licensing.eastmanhouse.org/.
The Louvre Atlas Database of Exhibits is a database of more than 30,000 exhibited works in the Louvre's collection. Search by category, artist, title, material and technique, inventory number, and department or browse the collection by room and department. You may also check out the museum's recent acquisitions.
Search the collection online, comprised of nearly 400,000 records, and refine results by artist, method, location, era, and department. Additionally, browse highlights, new installations, and galleries.
The Museum of Modern Art's collection includes more than 40,000 images of paintings, drawings, sculpture, photography, prints, illustrated books, and other works of art. Search the collection by artist, work, or keyword, or filter searchers department and decade. Browse the Index of Artists and Index of Art Terms to learn more about artists and media, styles, and movements.
This friendly, affordable guide to some 1,700 museums with art collections is a perfect resource to hand the art lover who wants to know what museums and other public exhibition spaces to visit in an area. Entries are arranged by state and city, and include basic information about fees, hours, activities, Web sites, and a description of the collections, facilities, a bit of history, and any special points of interest. Handy maps showing museum locations introduce each state section, and inviting photographs accompany most entries.
In Small Wonder: Worlds in a Box, David Levinthal takes as his subject a remarkable series of 1950s playsets manufactured by master toymakers Louis Marx and T. Cohn. As a reflection of the obsessive play of the 1950s and the current nostalgia for such items, Levinthal's tabletop photography allows the reader a bird's-eye view of imaginary tableaux - Legionnaire Captain Gallant in the desert, Fort Apache and the Wild West, boy scouts camping in the woods, and travelers making a stop at a roadside Howard Johnson's. Playset vignettes are like stills from a movie of American popular culture's collective unconscious. In the book's introduction, David Corey explores the history of playsets and their effect on American children in the 1950s.
Things American gives us, at last, a history of the Metropolitan Museum of Art based on genuine archival materials. Moreover, it reorients our thinking about art museums in the United States, demonstrating that there were important democratic, utilitarian, and civic impulses at work behind them.