Skip to Main Content

UTC Digital Collections : Search

Simple Search

The simple search box (in the header of the website) searches for items across all fields in all collections for all terms that you put in the search box, in any order. For example, if you search for Lookout Mountain Incline the search engine searches for items containing Lookout AND Mountain AND Incline. Use the advanced search to execute other types of searches. 

Advanced Search

UTC Digital Collections' Advanced Search enables you to select specific collections and to build a more complex search query on selected fields. Click on the Advanced Search link located below the search box on any page to build a query.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Advanced Search

You may select specific collection to search by un-checking the default Select All Collections options and choosing a particular collection. Once you have made your selection(s), click the Save button to remember your choices.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Collections Advanced Search

 

You may limit your searches to apply to specific field(s). For instance, if you select Title from the dropdown list of searchable fields, and enter Lookout Mountain in the search box, the results would contain only those items with the words Lookout and Mountain in the title.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Fields Advanced Search

All of the words searches for all of the words in any order. This search is similar to using AND. For instance, if you entered Lookout Mountain Incline in this search box, the search results would contain only those items containing both terms. Do not include AND with your search terms. AND is used automatically with the All of the words search and will be ignored if it is entered as a search term.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide All of the Words Advanced Search

Any of the words searches for any of the words entered in the search box. This search is similar to using OR. For instance, if you entered Lookout Mountain Incline in this search box, the search results would contain all items containing both terms, including results with only Lookout, only Incline, and only Mountain. Do not include OR with your search terms. OR is used automatically with the Any of the words search and will be ignored if it is entered as a search term.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Any of the Words Advanced Search

Exact phrase searches for all of the words in the exact order. This is similar to using quotation marks in other search engines. For instance, if you were searching for Lookout Mountain Incline, search results would contain only those items that contain the phrase Lookout Mountain Incline.

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Exact Phrase Advanced Search

None of the words excludes terms. For instance, if you entered Lookout Mountain in the exact phase search box and Incline in the none of the words search box, the search results would contain all items containing Lookout Mountain that do not contain the word Incline

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide None of the Words Advanced Search

You always have the option to search by date. Use the drop-down list to specify a date range, or to search before or after a particular date. Entering a year (yyyy) is required to perform a search. You may also search by year and month, or by month and day and year. 

UTC Digital Collections Help Guide Date Advanced Search

Wildcard*

UTC Digital Collections searches support the use of a wildcard operator that enables you to search for approximate terms. Using an asterisk (*) at the end of a search term will search for results with none, or any number of any characters appended to the root search term. For example, build* will find results with the words "build," "buildings," "builder" and so on.

New Search

After using the simple search or Advanced Search, you can start a new simple search by typing the search term and selecting New Search instead of Within Results. To clear an Advanced Search, click the Clear All button.

Refining Your Search

After using the simple search or Advanced Search, you can make your initial results more specific by searching Within Results from the simple search box or by choosing from the keywords listed in the Narrow Your Search By box. You also can add or remove collections from the search. 

If you have narrowed your search too far, you can step back and display previous results by removing the keywords you used in your search path (click the X next to the search term displayed at the top of your results).

Ask a Librarian