Research Guides: Flipster Magazines: Magazines

UTC Library Flipster

Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. UTC Library has access to nearly 50 popular magazines on Flipster covering a wide variety of subjects.

Topics

Art and Design

Aperture
Guide to the world of contemporary photography that combines the finest writing with inspiring photographic portfolios.
Architectural Digest
International authority in design and architecture.
Art in America
In-depth coverage of the global contemporary art scene such as profiles on respected and rising talents, critical essays and reviews of current exhibitions around the world, written by today's leading artists, curators and historians.
Artforum International
Artist projects, reviews, and essays on film, music, architecture, media, and more lend a unique perspective to the fine arts and to popular culture at large.
Communication Arts
Professional publication in graphic design, advertising, photography, illustration, typography, and interactive multimedia.
Dwell
Explore both the interiors and the exteriors of modern home design.
Flipster Guide
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. UTC Library has access to nearly 50 popular magazines on Flipster covering a wide variety of subjects.

Business and Consumer/Finance

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
One-stop source for making informed, money-saving purchases.
Forbes
Coverage of global business stories with uncanny insight and conciseness that hurried business folks appreciate.
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more.

Culture and Community

Bon Appetit
"Life through the lens of food" - cooking in, dining out, culture, travel, entertainment, shopping, and design.
Car & Driver New!
For automobile enthusiasts interested in domestic and imported autos. Contains road tests and features on performance, sports, international coverage of road race, stock and championship car events, technical reports, personalities and products.
Climbing New!
US-based rock climbing magazine.
Cosmopolitan
Focuses on personal growth, relationships and careers, with expanded reporting on fashion and beauty, health and fitness.
Eating Well
Brings must-know nutrition facts and advice, tips to help you shop smarter, and 50+ delicious recipes for lighter foods.
Esquire
Stories that amaze and intrigue, fantastic fiction, current fashion, sports, great places to do cool things, advice on nutrition and more.
Inked
Read about popular tattoo artists and see pictorials of their work, read interviews with celebrities and learn about their ink, and find other topics like music, fashion, art, sports, and the rest of the tattooed lifestyle.
Mountain Bike Action New!
Covers breaking technology, history, and issues that drive the sport of mountain biking.
Out
Out enriches LGBTQIA lives with thoughtful writing, stunning visuals, and authoritative coverage of fashion and design.
Outside
Travel reporting and advice available nowhere else, inspiring profiles, breathtaking photography, epic news from the frontiers of exploration and risk, rock-solid advice on gear, health, and fitness.
Real Simple New!
Smart, practical, beautiful solutions to make life easier-every single day. Each inspiring issue is packed with fast and delicious recipes, organizing and decorating ideas, great fashion and beauty finds, money-saving tips, and more.
Retro Gamer
Contains exclusive interviews with classic developers of old, goes behind the scenes of some of the biggest games of all time, reveals fascinating new facts about all of your favourite games and features the best games released for every console in the last 20 years!
Rolling Stone
Definitive source for music and pop culture trends, find culture and social commentary on current news and events.
Runner's World
Helps runners achieve their personal health, fitness and performance goals, and to inspire them with vivid, memorable storytelling.
Sports Illustrated New!
Complete coverage of sports, including the NFL, College Football, Baseball, College Basketball, the NBA and more.
Stand Up Paddle New!
Primarily covers the recreational aspects of Stand Up Paddling: beginner paddlers, leisure and family paddling, fitness, flatwater, and distance paddling, and a little bit of racing and surfing.
Vanity Fair
Cultural filter, sparking the global conversation about the people and ideas that matter most.
Vogue
Places fashion in the context of culture and the world we live in - how we dress, live and socialize; what we eat, listen to and watch; who leads and inspires us.

Learning

Civil War Times
Biographies, battles, eyewitness accounts, and period photos of America's greatest internal conflict.
Discover
Captivating developments in science, medicine, technology, and the world around us.
National Geographic
Cultural exploration as well as social and environmental changes that impact life on Earth.
New York Review of Books
Each issue addresses some of the most passionate political and cultural controversies of the day, and reviews the most engrossing new books and the ideas that illuminate them.
Popular Science
Latest developments in cars, electronics, communications, tools, energy, aviation, science, space exploration, and much more.
Wired
Illuminates how technology is changing every aspect of our lives-from culture to business, science to design.

Literature

New York Review of Books
Each issue addresses some of the most passionate political and cultural controversies of the day, and reviews the most engrossing new books and the ideas that illuminate them.
Oxford American New!
Quarterly literary magazine dedicated to featuring the best in Southern writing while documenting the complexity and vitality of the American South.
Poetry New!
Magazine devoted to poetry in the English-speaking world.

News and Politics

Atlantic
Covering major issues in politics, foreign affairs, the economy, and cultural trends.
Mother Jones
Bold and original award-winning reporting on the urgent issues of our day, from politics and climate change to education and the food we eat.
National Review
America's leading conservative voice for news and opinion.
The Nation New!
Magazine of record for America's progressive thought leaders.
New Yorker
A signature mix of reporting and commentary on politics, foreign affairs, business, technology, popular culture, and the arts, along with humor, fiction, poetry, and cartoons.
Reason
Magazine of "free minds and free markets, makes a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.
TIME
Offering incisive reporting, lively writing, and world-renowned photography to deliver a deeper understanding of the world we live in.
Week
Gathers and distills the issues and ideas, people and events making news now and then delivers it in a clear and concise, colorful and entertaining package.

Flipster Access

Access via the Flipster website or through free mobile apps:

Android Users: search for Flipster in the Google Play store
iPhone/iPad Users: search for Flipster in Apple App Store
Amazon Fire Tablet Users: access Flipster through Amazon.com

Once you've downloaded the app:

Click “Get Started”
Search for “Chattanooga”
Select “Univ of Tennessee-Chattanooga”
Sign in with your UTC ID and password

A few notes about the app:

Some magazines’ downloaded issues expire after a certain amount of time. If you downloaded an issue and it’s now expired, you can download it again.
Back issues are available by scrolling down each magazine’s page within the app. The number of back issues available depends on the magazine.

Please see the Flipster guide for video tutorials and more.