Skip to Main Content

MGT 4380: International Management : MGT 4380: International Management

Process guide for international management research

Before digging in to more in-depth research, it is helpful to have background information and a top level overview of the country and industry of interest. While we're all familiar with Wikipedia, there are other reliable resources that are more stable for citation purposes:

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Visit globalEDGE Insights by Country to learn more about the history, government, economy, and culture of almost every country in the world. Each country's page also provides external resources, trade statistics, rankings of corporations with headquarters in that country, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness.

IBISWorld
Domestic and global industry market and procurement research from economic, demographic, and government sources.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Company financial profiles, CFRA investment research, and more than 50 industry surveys.

 Once you better understand your country and company and have a solid foundational knowledge, you can better engage with scholarship and in-depth analysis. The following resources provide access to a wide range of publications, from popular newspapers and magazines to academic journals:

ABI/INFORM Collection
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular news in business, economics, marketing and management.

Business Source Premier
Searchable fulltext and cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. See the 'Company Profiles' tab at the top to see if there is a MarketLine report on your company.

Wall Street Journal (research link)
Use the above link to search the newspaper of record for business news. You also have access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, curated newsletters, podcasts, and more as UTC students. See our registration page for more information.

These resources will provide access to consumer and economic data, but it's your job as a researcher to make sense of it. The more context you have for the data, the better off you will be, so you might have to refer back to your other sources or search for additional information.

Global Consumer Survey (Statista)
Global consumption and media usage, covering online and offline consumer activities.

Statista
Statistics portal providing access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Statistical Abstract of the World
Comprehensive summary of statistics on social, politcial and economic conditions from 65+ countries.

UNData
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community.

Resource guide

ABI/INFORM Collection
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular news in business, economics, marketing and management.

Business Source Premier
Searchable fulltext and cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. See the 'Company Profiles' tab at the top to see if there is a MarketLine report on your company.

Global Consumer Survey (Statista)
Global consumption and media usage, covering online and offline consumer activities.

IBISWorld
Domestic and global industry market and procurement research from economic, demographic, and government sources.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Company financial profiles, CFRA investment research, and more than 50 industry surveys.

Statista
Statistics portal providing access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Statistical Abstract of the World
Comprehensive summary of statistics on social, politcial and economic conditions from 65+ countries.

Wall Street Journal (research link)
Use the above link to search the newspaper of record for business news. You also have access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, curated newsletters, podcasts, and more as UTC students. See our registration page for more information.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Visit globalEDGE Insights by Country to learn more about the history, government, economy, and culture of almost every country in the world. Each country's page also provides external resources, trade statistics, rankings of corporations with headquarters in that country, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness.

International Trade Administration Research Center (trade.gov)
Explore reports, data, and analyses of industries, countries, and regions.

UNData
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular news in business, economics, marketing and management.

Business Source Premier
Searchable fulltext and cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. See the 'Company Profiles' tab at the top to see if there is a MarketLine report on your company.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Global Consumer Survey (Statista)
Global consumption and media usage, covering online and offline consumer activities.

globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Visit globalEDGE Insights by Country to learn more about the history, government, economy, and culture of almost every country in the world. Each country's page also provides external resources, trade statistics, rankings of corporations with headquarters in that country, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness.

IBISWorld
Domestic and global industry market and procurement research from economic, demographic, and government sources.

International Trade Administration Research Center (trade.gov)
Explore reports, data, and analyses of industries, countries, and regions.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Company financial profiles, CFRA investment research, and more than 50 industry surveys.

Statista
Statistics portal providing access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Statistical Abstract of the World
Comprehensive summary of statistics on social, politcial and economic conditions from 65+ countries.

UNData
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community.

Wall Street Journal (research link)
Use the above link to search the newspaper of record for business news. You also have access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, curated newsletters, podcasts, and more as UTC students. See our registration page for more information.

Finding Data

Searching Data icon

Data and Statistics Guide

Find data in library databases and freely available resources across disciplines, time periods, and geographies. This guide also provides strategies for searching for data beyond the linked resources.

Finding Newspapers

News icon

News and Newspapers Guide

This guide allows you to find and search current and historical newspapers through the library's subscriptions. 

Ask a Librarian