Research Guides: Music: Special Collections

Rare Books

View materials from our collection of Rare Books, including first editions, signed copies, and fine bindings.

Chords from a Dulcimore by Emma Bell Miles
Call Number: PS3525.I482 C5 1912
Publication Date: 1912

Manuscripts

Conduct primary source research with our manuscripts, which include collections of personal papers, diaries, photographs, ephemera, and business records.

Sheet Music
Call Number: MS 085
The sheet music collection contains sheet music, mostly for piano and voice, for classical compositions as well as the popular songs from the 20th century.
Edwin Lindsey sheet music and manuscripts by Lindsey, Edwin Samuel (1897-1989)
Call Number: MS 052
Publication Date: 1924-1968
The Edwin Lindsey sheet music and collection includes sheet music and scores from operas, musicals, and Lindsey's original compositions dating from 1924 to 1968.
Cadek Conservatory programs and photographs by Cadek Conservatory of Music
Call Number: MS 006
Publication Date: 1930-1979
The Cadek Conservatory program and photographs collection contains musical performance programs, newspaper clippings, and photographs regarding Cadek Conservatory, Harold J. Cadek, and J. Oscar Miller from circa 1930s to 1970s.
Isa McIlwraith and Arthur Plettner photographs, programs, and papers by Plettner, Arthur; McIlwraith, Isa
Call Number: MS 072
Publication Date: 1950-1980
The Isa McIlwraith and Arthur Plettner photographs, programs, and papers collection contains personal papers, photographs, instructional materials, research files, sheet music, and music programs regarding musical composition and performance from circa 1950 to 1980.
Culver Smith research notes and papers by Smith, Culver H.
Call Number: MS 037
Publication Date: 1932-1979
The Culver Smith research notes and papers collection includes pamphlets, clippings, programs, class notes, correspondence relating to the Chattanooga Symphony, Chattanooga Opera Association, music in Chattanooga, and early 19th century journalism. The collection ranges from 1932 to 1979 and also includes drafts of manuscripts for his book, Chattanooga Symphony, Chattanooga Opera Association, music in Chattanooga, and early 19th century journalism.
Chattanooga Civic Chorus programs and scrapbooks
Call Number: MS 009
Publication Date: 1930-1955
The Chattanooga Civic Chorus programs and scrapbooks collection contains programs, printed ephemera, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks regarding the Chattanooga Civic Chorus and Cadek Choral Society from 1930 to 1955.

About Special Collections

Hours and Location

Check the UTC Library Hours for the most current hours.

Get Help

Don't know where to start?

Review our FAQ or Make an Appointment in Special Collections to learn more about searching, requesting, and using our resources.

Music : Special Collections

Rare Books

Manuscripts

About Special Collections

Hours and Location

Get Help

Library