Skip to Main Content

Searching the Literature: A Guide for Nurses : Step 7: Search!

Choose your databases, employ your many awesome search strategies, and keep a matrix of your searches! The following tutorials can be helpful if you need a refresher on any of our databases or catalog or how to find full text in the databases:

CINAHL

The CINAHL Tip Sheet is a concise guide to getting started with CINAHL.

PubMed

PubMed is one of the more challenging databases that we own, in terms of searching. I highly recommended that you peruse some of the suggested materials below.

PubMed Quick Start Guide

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

I recommend that you start with "How do I search PubMed?" video at the top of this section. If you are interested in others in the list, fine, but the tutorial listed below will probably answer more of your questions.

Chapel's Top 5 PubMed Tips 

  1. Use the Advanced search to build a better search.
  2. Use the "Article Types" feature to get the best levels of evidence.
  3. Narrow publication dates for most health-related research
  4. Repeat after me: Thou shalt not use quotation marks in thy PubMed searches!
  5. Create an NCBI account to save a record of your searches, save your filters, create a bibliography and more!

Web of Science

 ​The Web of Science Tip Sheet is a concise guide to getting started with Web of Science. Web of Science indexes Medline (the primary component of PubMed) and provides several tools helpful in the analysis of research.

Google Scholar Search Tips

https://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html

Be sure to visit Google Scholar only through the Library's website while you are a student here (choose "Databases" on the search box and then "Google Scholar"). This will give you access to the things we subscribe to and a way to order things we don't have through InterLibrary Loan. Remember, you should never have to pay for an article while at UTC. When you are no longer at UTC however, Google Scholar will prove a useful tool for you to gather research—some of which is freely available.

Finding Full Text

The Library doesn't always have direct access to an item. You will often use our Get It@UTC button to locate full text for an article. 

Ask a Librarian