• Keywords and Search Strategy
• Refining Your Topic
• Source Types
• Where to Search
• Databases
• Evaluating Sources
• Library Card, Computers, Printing

Keywords and Search Strategy

• Identify the most important 2-4 words from your research question. These are your key concepts.
• For each key concept, make a list of other words/phrases with the same or related meanings. These will be your keywords!

Tips:

•  Use a thesaurus to find synonyms or similar phrases.
• If you don't know enough about your topic, Google your topic to gather more keywords.

Remember: Revise your search strategy! Your search results can be a gold mine of different keywords, phrases, and concepts related to your topic. Try new searches using different language and you will see different results.

Refining your topic

1. Start with Google to do some background research and reading on your topic. 
2. As you read, try to identify different angles or perspectives on your topic. Do some Google searches with keyword and phrases about that topic.
3. When you find an article you are interested in, notice the terminology used and the perspective or angle being discussed.
4. As your interest sparks, do more searches using new keywords and phrases and narrowing in on specific perspectives. Eventually, you will find articles on a variety of different perspectives.
5. Example topic: how technology impacts college students' lives, you may find all these different perspectives or angles:
   • Social media use
   • Privacy concerns
   • Impact on face-to-face relationships and interactions
   • Impact on attention span
   • Use in education
6. Likely, you will only be able to cover one or two perspectives in your assignment (check your professor's requirements.) Once you pick your angle, generate a list of keywords and phrases about your topic that you can use in the library's databases to find high quality sources for your paper. 

This worksheet may be helpful to you as you refine your research question:

Source Types and Their Function Within Research

• Read your professor's guidelines closely to be sure you are finding appropriate sources
• Your professor may allow you to use a variety of source types, including peer-reviewed scholarly articles, newspaper or magazine articles, government reports, etc. Each of these sources functions differently in research.

Watch the video below to learn about source types and their function within research:

Where to Search

Start with the Quick Search on the library's website:

This searches the library's books, e-books, and many articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use the filters on the left side of the results to narrow to the type of sources you need. A benefit of using the Quick Search is the handy citation generator that is included in the search results.

Use Google for background information, government websites, organizational websites and other freely available content.

What is a database?

A database is a searchable collection of information. Databases have a mix of scholarly articles, popular articles from newspapers and magazines, trade journals, and sometimes e-books, videos, images and more.

The UTC Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Multisubject databases provide millions of articles on a wide variety of topics. Subject-specific databases provide fewer articles, but will focus exclusively on one or two subject areas.

Follow these guidelines when picking a database:

1. If you're just getting started with your research or need a variety of popular and scholarly sources try a Multisubject database like ProQuest Central. (Use the Databases button on the library's homepage, see the Multisubject list below the searchbox)

2. To find Subject specific databases, click on the Research Guides button and select the academic discipline your topic is associated with. For example, if your topic is about social media and body issues, you can go to the Psychology Subject guide. 

Finding the Full Text & Requesting Items

Some articles have a Download PDF button when the full text is readily available. It might look like this:

If you don't see a PDF button, you might see a red Get It @ UTC button:

Click the red Get It @ UTC button to see if we have the full text in a different database.

If we don't have an article or book that you need,  Make a Request to order the article or book that you need. It's free & easy!  

Searching the Databases

1. First, you'll come to a Search screen. Enter your keywords in here and click search. 
2. Once you've entered your search, you'll see the initial Results screen. Here's where you can filter by source type, publication date, or subject area.
3. When you find an article you like, click on the title to get to the Article screen. This is where you should see the full article information, an abstract if there is one, and links to the full text and tools for citing and emailing the article.

Evaulating Sources

Critically evaluate each of your sources.

Keep It Credible Infographic

Created by UTC Library 

Library Card, Computers, Printing, & Visiting

Your Mocs Card is your library card. You may use your Mocs Card to check out library materials, course reserves, and equipment. 

Computers: The main campus computer lab is on the 2nd floor of the library. Log in with your UTCID and Password.

Printing: Here is the most up to date information on how to print in the library  

Visiting the Library: The Library's open hours may change throughout the semester. Check here for updated hours.

Check Out: The library has books and technology available for you to borrow.  Click here for a list of what is currently available for check out. You can Place a Hold  on books and a library worker will get the book for you you. You'll recieve an email when it is available for pick up.

Find Your Study Space

The UTC library was built with study spaces throughout, including reservable study rooms. From the library's homepage, click Book a Room under the Quick Links to see what's available and reserve your space. 

Writing and Communication Center

The WCC  works with students on all types of writing and communication projects, including essays, presentations, research papers, and resumes/application materials. We offer real-time in person or online consultations, asynchronous feedback on drafts, and in-class workshops and presentations. In short, if it has words, we can probably help!

The Studio

The Studio  is your source for anything multimedia and is located on the 3^rd floor of the library.  The Studio has the technology and help you need to make a video, poster, 3D print, record audio, video and more.

For a Synthesis Paper you need to:

• Identify a broad topic to investigate.
• Do background reading to discover issues and stakeholders. 
• Find sources that explore and explain the various perspectives you have discovered.
• Read each source thoroughly and weave together the ideas to create the final paper.

For an Annotated Bibliography, you need to:

• Find a variety of different types of sources (scholarly, popular, & trade)
• Be sure that your sources are credible
• Pay attention to source bias
• Be sure to cite appropriately 

Remember to read your assignment sheets thoroughly for specific requirements.