The Emma Bell Miles Southern Appalachia art and correspondence digital collection contains correspondence among members and friends of writer and artist Emma Bell Miles’ family of origin illustrating the personal roots of themes Emma lived out and developed in her work. The heart of the collection is a series of letters written during 1901-1903 concerning Emma’s troubled relationship with her parents, her life as a young woman, and her life as an emerging artist and naturalist; as well as the death of her mother, Emma’s marriage to Frank Miles soon thereafter, and disposition of Bell family property in Walden Ridge, Tennessee. The collection also features numerous examples of Emma's art, including watercolors, oil paintings, and sketches.
The Penelope Johnson Allen Brainerd Mission correspondence and photographs digital collection features orignal correspondence and receipts created by the United States Department of War, Indian Agent Return J. Meigs, and Brainerd Mission superintendents and founders Gideon Blackburn, Cyrus Kingsbury, and Ard Hoyt. The collection also includes photographs of portraits of the Brainerd missionaries, Daughters of the American Revolution dedication events at Brainerd Mission Cemetery, and copies of etchings of Brainerd Mission.
The Chattanooga Women's Oral Histories digital collection features interviews with women in and around Chattanooga, Tennessee. Interviewees were asked questions such as "What are some of your early memories of Chattanooga?" and "What do you perceive to be the core elements of a successful city?" The interviews celebrate the accomplishments and experiences of women business leaders, advocates, educators, social activists, and community builders across generation, socioeconomic, and cultural backgrounds.
Conduct primary source research with our manuscripts, which include collections of personal papers, diaries, photographs, ephemera, and business records.
The Andrews Family correspondence, photographs, and papers collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, personal papers, geneologies, and photographs created by several generations of this family, who lived in Georgia and Chattanooga, Tennessee in the 18th and 19th centuries. Of particular interest is the journal of Eliza Frances Andrews (1840-1939), daughter of Judge Andrews. Eliza Andrews wrote several books, articles and essays (under her own name and using pseudonyms Fanny Andrews and Elzey Hay), including the popular War Time Journal of a Georgia Girl, 1864-1865 (D. Appleton and Co., 1908), A Family Secret (as Elzy Hay) (Lippincott, 1876) and several botany text books. Her journal documents the South during Reconstruction from 1870 to 1872.
The Anne Bachman Hyde correspondence and research notes s collection contains research notes, photographs, original documents, local histories, books, journals, newspaper clippings, and other materials relating to the Cherokee Indians and Brainerd Mission, Civil War, and United Daughters of the Confederacy, ranging from 1868 to 1959. The collection also features papers relating to Charles McGuffey, a Chattanooga, Tennessee lawyer and local historian and McGuffey's grandfather, Daniel Drake, a noted physician.
The Caroline Gordon clippings, articles, and short stories collection contains newspaper clippings, journal articles, and short stories authored by and about the novelist and literary critic dating from 1933 to 1956.
The Jean Miles Catino and Emma Bell Miles correspondence, journals, and papers collection contains Catino's correspondence as well as journals, artwork, and photographs created by Emma Bell Miles, Catino's mother. The Emma Bell Miles content documents mountain life on Walden Ridge in the early 20th century.
The Marilyn Lloyd papers and correspondence collection contains her congressional papers, letters from constituents, and committee records, that document her 20 year service as a member of the United States House of Representatives from Tennessee's third Congressional District from 1974 to 1994.
The Penelope Johnson Allen research notes, correspondence, and photographs collection contains research notes, histories, correspondence, documents, photographs regarding history of Brainerd Mission and the efforts of the Judge David Campbell Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution to preserve and memorialize the Brainerd Mission Cemetary dating from 1803 to 1990.